Shrimp Fried Quinoa

As a lot of you know, I am on the 28-Day Shrink Your Stomach Challenge. Today is Day 3 and I am still focused and going strong. Thank God! I weighed myself this morning and I am happy to say I have lost 2.3 Lbs. That’s in 2 days. Yippee!

Now the real struggle with this challenge is not making it through the 28 days or the planks but the food you are allowed to eat – 1/2 an avocado for breakfast with an egg, whole wheat toast or half a banana for 28 days hmm, that doesn’t sound exciting. The good thing is I’m already learning what works and doesn’t work for my husband and me. For instance, while I loved the Avocado and Boiled Egg combo, it made my husband feel nauseous and while he found the Avocado Cacao Smoothie tasty, it was difficult for me to drink. Which leads me to this Shrimp Fried Quinoa, this is one recipe that works for both my husband and me. If you are allergic to shellfish, you can substitute shrimps for any other lean meat or have it straight up veggie. Here’s the recipe. Hope you like it.

image

Ingredients, Serves 4

7 oz / 1 Cup Red Quinoa
10 oz Uncooked Shrimp
½ Red Bell Pepper
½ Green Bell Pepper
½ Orange Bell Pepper
½ Yellow Bell Pepper
8 oz Sweet Corn
2 Tbsp Soy Sauce
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
½ Tbsp. Curry Powder
½ Tbsp. Black Pepper

Method

Rinse Quinoa with a fine sieve, place in a medium saucepan with 2¼ cups of water. Allow Quinoa to come to a boil then reduce to low heat and let simmer for 15 minutes. Take off heat and set a side for 10 minutes to allow the water to absorb into and soften the Quinoa.

In a large wok, spray about 1 tablespoon of Olive Oil, add diced Bell Peppers, stir fry for 5 minutes. Next add Sweet Corn, Shrimps, Quinoa, Soy Sauce, Curry and Black Pepper and stir fry for a further 5 minutes. Take off heat and allow to sit for 10 minutes before serving.

This recipe serves 4, which means you can save the left overs for another day.

Leave a Reply

